Breaking News

Islands District

The Islands District  is just one of the 18 districts of Hong Kong. It’s a part of the New Territories. It had a population of 137,122 in 2009. Hong Kong consists of a peninsula and 236 islands. The Islands District consists of some twenty large and small islands which lie towards the south and southwest of Hong Kong. With an area which is 16% of Hong Kong as well as a people that is 2% of Hong Kong, the Islands District may be the largest in relation to area and in addition the least populated. It’s so the district with by far the lowest population density of 783 per km. The outlying islands are prominent for a much more relaxed life style than that of Hong-kong Island and Kowloon Peninsula. The district has the 3rd youngest inhabitants.

The Islands District consists of more than twenty islands of various sizes. The larger ones are Lantau Island, Lamma Island, Cheung Chau, Peng Chau and Po Toi. The Islands District, with 17,600 hectares of land area, is the largest among the 18 administrative districts in Hong Kong. Its 153,000 inhabitants mainly reside in the Tung Chung New Town, while the rest live in Cheung Chau, Peng Chau, Lamma Island, Tai O, Mui Wo, Tung Chung, South Lantau and Discovery Bay, etc. The District is renowned for its holiday resorts, as well as hiking trails, historical sites, beaches, holiday houses and seafood restaurants. The most well-known are Cheung Sha Beach, Giant Buddha in Po Lin Monastery, Tung Chung Fort, AsiaWorld-Expo, Ngong Ping Market, Tai O Fishing Village, Hong Kong Disneyland, Ngong Ping 360 and Hong Kong Olympic Trail, etc. Many islands of Hong Kong are truly not part of the district.

Most notably, Hong-kong Island features four districts itself. The term Outlying Islands will refer to the islands of the Islands District. The northeast point of Lantau and Ma Wan traditionally participate in Tsuen Wan District owing to their own transport dependence and management of Tsuen Wan. Tsing Yi Island was previously administrated by Tsuen Wan District now by Kwai Tsing District. As the Sai Kung Islands are part of the Sai Kung District, and also the Tolo Channel Islands part of Tai Po District. Other notable places that are part of the Islands District contain Chek Lap Kok, the island which the Hong-kong International Airport is located, Tung Chung on northern Lantau near the airport, and Discovery Bay, a large private residential area on eastern Lantau. Collectively, Mui Wo and Tai O on Lamma Island, Cheung Chau, Lantau and Peng Chau are more populated compared to the remainder of the area of the district.

About Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


three × 4 =

WhatsApp chat